Open Studios 17-19th June 2016

Over the weekend I held my first open studios at Coldharbour Studios. The community do two a year. I attended the one at Christmas but didn’t have much to show, so wasn’t involved. This time I felt more confident showing some work as I’d had a little more time to prepare.

It was an amazing experience. I had some very interesting conversations with a range of different people. The feedback was invaluable and I felt very comfortable discussing and listening to interpretations.

The best part of the weekend, by far, was the reaction to those who hadn’t tried VR before. It is a gimmick. a HUGE gimmick, but its still fun. I showed a small 20 second demo of my final piece on a loop. I still haven’t managed to get my hands on a proper headset (and won’t be able to for the final show) so i’ve resorted to a slightly better version of a google cardboard and an iPhone. The response was still promising and I’m excited to show the finished version in a few weeks time! I’m hoping to get a Samsung Gear for this as the resolution and screen size is significantly better.

Here are some photos from the weekend:

13419107_10153489017732163_928955235973713529_n

 

13466115_10153493181597163_3643343682227863246_n

Leave a Reply

