Updates – New Chapel Designs, Media Plan B, Unity Screenshots 20042016

I’ve been making some big changes to the VR side of my final piece. I’ve (just about) got over the fact that incorporating live news media won’t be possible s0 I’m having to go down other routes. If I’m honest, It’s a real blow. I wonder if I’d continued more ruthlessly with three.js at the end of last year rather than getting interested in Unity whether the outcome would have been different, but time is running out and I can’t afford to keep experimenting without a certain outcome. At least I know that with funding I can do it. Whether that funding went towards hiring a programmer to create a unity script using CEFGlue and scraping browser data, or just buying Coherent UI.

Anyway, I’m over it, and going with Plan B.

I’m going to create video collages of browser screen grabs and news recordings. This does allow more flexibility with the narrative on misinformation and religious technology and media usage.

I’ve been trying to design the chapel for the piece, and have decided to give Cycles render a rest for the design process. Blender Render gives a simple model-like finish. These are the native models without any texturing. I want to complete the basic infrastructure of the level before focussing too much on detail. These details will include altars, figures, pews, satellites and monitors. I hope to begin the texturing at the beginning of May.

I should mention that I’m unsure about the presentation when in VR. Part of me wants to put all the focus on the interior. I’ll decide when its more complete. Conceptually it makes more sense to stay inside the Chapel, but aesthetically, its nice to be outside…. A lot to think about.

The model is far from done, but these are the Blender Renders as of lunchtime today:

Chapel20042165.png

Chapel20042166.png

Chapel20042169.png

Chapel20042162.png

Actually…. I have made a change this then…. i added a window.

Chapel2004201612.png

I’ve placed the new model in Unity and here are a few screenshots of it in action. (Lots of work to do). As explained before these are process photos, so theres currently no textures or lighting other than the smokescreen.

Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 17.06.09Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 17.06.43Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 17.07.19Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 17.07.35Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 17.07.49Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 17.08.49

Leave a Reply

