26022015 Tutorial with Keir Williams

We had a constructive chat. It was great experience to talk about my work with someone who hadn’t seen it before. We discussed the different concepts surrounding my work such as Interaction, and how really my work is actually Reactive, rather than Interactive. He’s sent me an article on the difference:

Distinguishing Concepts – Lexicons of Interactive Art and Architecture

http://www.haque.co.uk/papers/distinguishing_concepts.pdf

Keir also sent me a few other things to look at:

An Interactive Art Festival – http://www.aec.at/prix/en/kategorien/

Keir Williams Lecture Work – http://id.uwedigitalmedia.com/

He made distinct connections with my work and the Futurists / Constructivists.

bb2e56aa-28fb-11e0-aa18-00144feab49a.img

images-9

images-11

images-10

images-12

images-13

images-14

images-15

images-16 images-17

images-18

images

He also compared some of my work to a pretty niche film from the early 90s, The Lawnmower Man. With a similar aesthetic to Second Life, and other early computer generated avatars,  I can see how he compared a few of my uses of generic digital figures in the same way. I’ve attached some photos as well as a short description of the film.

The eccentric Dr. Lawrence Angelo (Pierce Brosnan) puts mentally disabled landscaper Jobe Smith (Jeff Fahey) on a regimen of experimental pills and computer-simulated training sequences in hopes of augmenting the man’s intelligence. In time Jobe becomes noticeably brighter and also begins to fare much better with the opposite sex. But, as he develops psychic powers, he realizes that those around him have taken advantage of his simplicity his whole life, and he plots a bloody revenge…..

I’ll be watching this film very soon.

lawnmower-man-original.0

lawnmower460

timthumb.php

features_lawn-2

images-7

The-Lawnmower-Man-1992-

 

Whilst discussing my idea of making paintings unreadable without an audience, we ended up talking about Valentina Tanni whom released a fox into a gallery, she then created a piece using the gallery’s CCTV footage of the fox.

 

Obviously this wasn’t completely on topic, though seeing examples of artists playfully mocking the gallery as a space is always intriguing.

http://www.valentinatanni.com/fox-museum/

nightwatch

 

 

Overall the tutorial was very constructive. He introduced me to influences I’d wouldn’t otherwise know, and made me feel very positive about my research. Some points to go forward were for me to try to focus less on perfectly executed ideas, and to experiment more with the mixture of digital and physical processes. He also believed that my concepts surrounding the more linear work had a lot to it, and a lot more to discover with it.

Leave a Reply

